Eat It, Damn It!

Reviews, raves, slams, and damns.

Ardeo Mediterranean Taverna

Ardeo is a place I try to go every time I’m on Cape Cod. I have never had a bad meal there, and their specials are always interesting. This time, my girlfriend and I decided on items from their regular menu.

For starters, we had the Lebanese Pies ($3.95 each). They come with either ground beef or spinach. We got one of each. The beef is well seasoned, but not terribly moist (there is no gravy). The spinach was too well seasoned. Unfortunately, I think there were olives mixed in the spinach, which I cannot stand.

Lebanese Pie

The Angus Tips ($17.95) are nicely charred. The meat is not over-seasoned resulting in a good beefy flavor. The onions are plentiful and delicious, but the rice is largely forgettable.

Angus Tips

The Eggplant Rollatini ($15.95) is rich to the point of decadence. The eggplant is stuffed with garlic, basil, spinach, ricotta and Romano cheese. The accompanying sauce is also creamy. The lactose intolerant should beware this dish. The shoestring sweet potatoes are nice, but crunchy chips don’t really work with this dish. I would have preferred some roasted sweet potato instead.

Eggplant Rollatini

Ardeo has multiple locations, but I have only been to the South Yarmouth location, so I cannot attest to the quality of the other branches. The lighting is a little low and I have never been during the afternoon, but Ardeo is a definite must stop location for a Cape Cod dinner.

Ardeo Mediterranean Taverna
Union Station location
23V Whites Path
South Yarmouth
508-760-1500
(Google Map)

Leave a Reply

