Eat It, Damn It!

Reviews, raves, slams, and damns.

Bobby Byrne’s

I really wanted to try some Lobster Macaroni and Cheese. I’ve never had it before, so I figured a seafood-centric region like Cape Cod would be a good place to try. After a little research, I found Bobby Byrne’s. There are multiple locations on Cape Cod. My girlfriend and I went to the Hyannis location.

Byrnes Sign

Bobby Byrne’s is a pub. There are plenty of wooden benches, a big bar area, and a slew of televisions. When we were there, the Bruins were playing in the Stanley Cup, so the place was quite animated. Despite the crowd, the service was prompt and attentive. “Thumbs-up so far.”

Wing Dings
The Buffalo Tossed Wing Dings ($9.20) were great. The breading was crisp, the chicken was tender and moist, the sauce had heat and rich flavor. The portion was plentiful, more than enough to share.

Lobster Mac and Cheese
The Baked Lobster Macaroni and Cheese ($17.95) comes in a big bowl with a nice side salad. There was plenty of lobster meat and the mac & cheese was creamy. Oddly, I needed to add salt. I was surprised. I think they were using an American cheese. I have never had lobster mac & cheese, so I’m not sure how it should taste. The cheese kind of overpowers the lobster meat. Once I added some salt, it was nice, very savory, but I’m not sure it was really enjoyable. It wasn’t bad, but I don’t think I’ll be ordering this dish again.

Chicken Pot Pie
My girlfriend got the Chicken Pot Pie ($12.95). Again, it was big bowl accompanied by a side salad. Topping the bowl was a mashed potato crust, toasted golden. There was plenty of white meat chicken inside. My girlfriend proclaimed that it was the best she had ever eaten.

All the portions at Bobby Byrne’s are plentiful. It is a perfect pub to watch the game and share a few dishes. I would definitely recommend it for a casual dinner or a place to have a few beers while snacking.

Bobby Byrne’s
Route 28 & Bearses Way
Hyannis, MA 02601
508-775-1425
(Google Map)

Leave a Reply

