Eat It, Damn It!

Reviews, raves, slams, and damns.

Pasticerria Rocco

When I have dessert, I like the richest, creamiest, most-heart-attack-inducing pastries possible. I don’t get to have them often, so when I do, I make sure that they are the best available. My favorite: cannoli. My favorite place for cannoli: Rocco’s.

The first time I went to Rocco’s was purely by chance. I hadn’t heard of the place, I got no recommendation, it was just blind luck. I made the mistake of driving into lower Manhattan during the San Genero festival. Needless to say, after a few hours of stop and go, then finally finding a parking spot, I needed a bit of caffeine. My first time in Rocco’s, I didn’t have any form of pastry, I just had cappuccino… and it was excellent.

Cappuccino
The cappuccino is still excellent. Thankfully, that has not changed in the near fifteen years I have been a regular. If you are fan of coffee, I could not give it a higher recommendation. The espresso is also very nice.

Iced Tea
MG got an iced tea. It was fine.

Chocolate Cannoli
The chocolate cannoli is sin. The shell is crisp, despite being draped in a dark crust. The pastry cream is sweet and creamy beyond imagination. The chocolate chips and powdered sugar are just nice accoutrements.

Peanut Butter Pie
MG is a big fan of the Peanut Butter Pie. It is basically a pie of pastry cream mixed with peanut butter, then topped with Reeses Pieces, chocolate, and caramel. The pie crust is fresh and delicious, but it almost doesn’t matter when everything that tops it is laden with peanut buttery goodness. The piece you see in the picture is as big as it looks. MG could not finish, as few mortals could. Get a slice to share with another peanut butter lover.

Everything at Rocco’s is wonderful. Everything I have ever tried has been special.

Pasticerria Rocco
243 Bleecker Street
New York, NY 10014
212-242-6031
(Google Map)

Leave a Reply

