Eat It, Damn It!

Reviews, raves, slams, and damns.

Thornwood Coach

One of the main advantages to a diner, at least in my estimation, is breakfast all day. (Kevin Bacon also said it was a major draw in the film Diner.)

One evening, I had some time to kill and I needed a bite. I wanted someplace quiet where I could sit with my laptop and work for a few. Also, it was cold, someplace with coffee would be preferable. I didn’t want Chinese, Italian, or anything else special. Lo and behold, what materializes before me as I’m contemplating my options? Thornwood Coach. Perfect.

Their menu is pretty extensive, as is the case with many a diner. There are carving board sandwiches, specialty sandwiches, open sandwiches, daily specials, soup specials, Italian specialties, omlettes, eggs, egg sandwiches, burgers, clubs, appetizers, sides, salads, etc… The list goes on and on.

Cup of Coffee
I started with the coffee ($1.59). They were able to provide me with a side of skim milk at my request. Nice.

Carafe of Coffee
One nice addition to the usual coffee service: they gave me a small carafe of coffee along with my cup so I would not have to flag someone down every time I wanted a refill. Good idea, folks. The coffee was nothing special, but it was fresh and not watered down. That is a plus in my book. It didn’t blow my mind, but I did not dislike the drink.

After going over the array of options for the fifth time, the waitress came by to ask if I was ready. As she did so, something caught my eye. “Yes, I am ready.”

Sweet Potato Pancakes
This is the first time I’ve ever had Sweet Potato Pancakes ($7.99). They were great. Each bite had serious sweet potato flavor, not overwhelmed by the other ingredients. I will have to try making these myself. There was nothing that seemed complex about them. They were well cooked and plenty tasty. As is customary, the pancakes were served with maple syrup. I’m not sure that this is the best topping for sweet potato pancakes, but I’m hard pressed to think of what might work better. Agave? Something with brown sugar?

Good coffee and respectable pancakes definitely earn a thumbs up. The service was prompt, the place clean, and the prices are reasonable. If you are in the area and need a diner, the Thornwood Diner might work for you as well.

Thornwood Coach
525 Kensico Road
Thornwood, NY 10594
914-769-8844
(Google Map)

Leave a Reply

