Eat It, Damn It!

Reviews, raves, slams, and damns.

Plaza Diner

“Let’s go out for dessert,” MG said. She had someplace in mind. I could tell. She just wasn’t telling me where or what… yet.

“OK.”

I was surprised that we ended up at a diner. Usually, she prefers to frequent coffee shops, or specialty stores for her desserts. She had found the Plaza Diner on the advice of a friend one evening. She said that their Peanut Butter Pie was to die for, and when it comes to Peanut Butter Pie, MG does not mess around.

Imagine our dismay when we were informed that no Peanut Butter Pie was available. “What? No Peanut Butter Pie?” Nope. No PBP.

Peanut Butter Explosion
On our waitress’ advice, MG went with the Peanut Butter Explosion ($4.79). It is a layered dessert of peanut butter and chocolate. It is topped with brownie pieces and peanut butter chips.

What was good? It’s peanut butter. I’m a peanut butter fanatic, so if it has any form of peanut butter, it passes for at least decent in my book. What was bad? It tasted like peanut butter mixed with Cool Whip. It wasn’t bad, but nothing I would order again. MG declared it, “A’ight.”

Turtle Cheesecake
I had the Turtle Cheesecake ($4.79). It too was “A’ight.” It tasted mostly of cream cheese. There were chopped nuts on the top that tasted like walnuts. There was also a dollop of some form of peanut butter on top that added nothing to the proceedings..

As for both desserts, I hated the wrapping that surrounded each. It makes me feel like I’m eating sweets purchased at a corner deli. Yuck! Perhaps they are delivered that way. Maybe some people like the individual wrapping for take away purposes. Either way, I wish they would have removed it before serving.

Plaza Coffee
The coffee ($1.59) was serviceable.

Plaza Tea
The water for the tea ($1.59) could have been hotter.

Sad to say, our Plaza Diner experience was not the greatest. I don’t believe I will be returning unless the aforementioned Peanut Butter Pie is definitely available.

Plaza Diner
737 Bridgeport Avenue
Shelton, CT 06484
203-925-5910
(Google Map)

Leave a Reply

