Eat It, Damn It!

Reviews, raves, slams, and damns.

IKEA New Haven

I went to IKEA. I don’t think anyone finds this fact remarkable. However, I’ve never been to IKEA. I remember when I first became aware of IKEA, sometime in my youth (don’t ask if it was the eighties or nineties). Here is what I heard about IKEA:

It’s cheap.
It comes from Sweden.
They are cheap because they do not assemble anything for you.
They have meatballs, and since they are from Sweden, the meatballs are decidedly Swedish.

I guess that all these statements turned out to be true. I don’t know what I really expected, but I was expecting something more foreign, perhaps more Swedish. “What the heck is ‘more Swedish’?” I don’t know, but what I found when I went to the IKEA off I-95 in Connecticut was a Home Depot that sold furniture and was more blue than orange.

First impressions of big-box store aside, you didn’t come here for my opinions on department stores. You came for a food review.

Ikea Meatballs
Meatballs. They are balls of meat. Duh. What kind of meat? As I understand it, Swedish meatballs are supposed to be a mixture of beef, pork, and veal. They are rolled small and cooked. How? I don’t really know. What do I know? These meatballs tasted like Vienna Sausages. The texture was kind of close to Vienna Sausages as well. Is that a good thing? I’ll leave that for you to decide.

The meatballs also came with mashed potatoes and lingonberry jelly. I’ve never had jelly with my mashed potatoes. It wasn’t bad, but nothing I’m craving again.

Garlic Toast
I also got a piece of garlic toast ($0.69). It was fresh and tasty, airy and nice, not tough at all.

As fast food goes, you could do worse. This dish is dirt cheap ($3.99). I also liked that everything is served on real plates with real utensils. If you are in IKEA, starving, and there is nothing else nearby, I don’t think you will be disappointed.

IKEA New Haven
450 Sargent Drive
New Haven, CT 06511
203-865-4532
(Google Map)

Leave a Reply

