Eat It, Damn It!

Reviews, raves, slams, and damns.

The Dog House Restaurant

Dog House Sign
Hot Dogs. They go hand in hand with baseball, because they are a purely American food. (At least, I’m pretty sure. I didn’t see too many dogs in Senegal.) As I’ve written before, I never crave them, don’t particularly care for them, and won’t go out of my way to eat them. However, when someone gives me a rave review of a place, my curiosity takes over. Such was the case with the Dog House Restaurant.

The Dog House is located on a road, but it should be on the beach. It’s a little shack that overlooks an array of picnic tables. Granted, it’s near the beach, but I’m just creating a visual.

Two Chili Cheese Dogs
MG and I got the same thing, the Chili Cheese Dog. It is their standard dog, but topped with chili and shredded jack and cheddar cheese.

While interesting, I will not be running back the Dog House anytime soon. Their standard dog tastes almost like an overgrown Vienna Sausage. Is that good or bad? I’ll leave that up to individual tastes. It’s grilled on two sides, which create a nice bit of crunch and snap. The flavor is not very beefy. It tastes… well… like a big Vienna Sausage.

The chili did not really taste of chili. It tastes like a nice ground beef and tomato stew with a few beans, but there was no kick at all. Is that bad for a hot dog topping chili? Again, I’ll leave that up to each individual. I would have preferred a little chili pepper in my chili.

The shredded cheese was shredded cheese. If the chili was hotter (temperature-wise) the cheese might have melted a bit, but the beef and tomato substance was on the tepid side. While not necessarily a bad thing, it might turn some folks off who like their food piping hot.

Toasted Buttered Bun
What was very good was the toasted buttered bun. The Dog House clearly serves lobster rolls, because this is the exact kind of casing one want’s their prepared crustacean housed within.

If you need a quick bite, you could do worse.

The Dog House Restaurant
189 Lower County Road
Dennis Port, MA 02639
508-398-7774
(Google Map)

2 responses to “The Dog House Restaurant

  1. daveparent November 2, 2012 at 3:43 pm

    Oh man, i love hot dogs. Making me want one right now.

  2. campingwithcaviar December 8, 2012 at 12:12 am

    bummed your experience was not a good one! We don’t get the chili dog, we like the bacon cheese dog–much better….

Leave a Reply

